Board Report April 12, 2019

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices. Mrs. Bryant, board secretary, presented the results of the annual election. Members elected to the board include Peter Marcellus and Roger Frieze. Both will serve three-year terms. Reorganization of the board, which is required each April, included the following: Roger Frieze, president; Peter Marcellus, vice president; Kim Bryant, secretary; and Don Forrest, treasurer.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Swofford provided information on the following items: an overview of the MASA spring conference, which he attended, along with Dr. Arnette and Dr. Forrest; a legislative update; an overview of the social media forums that have taken place; Haleigh Collier and Savannah Ray have been named Outstanding Beginning Teachers by the Missouri Association of Colleges for Teacher Education; BHS student council received the Honor Council Award; and the High School Interact Club will participate in a social media "fast". Dr. Arnette announced that Dr. Swofford was named one of eight Outstanding New Superintendents by the Missouri Association of School Administrators at its annual spring conference. Mrs. Sheets provided an update on assessment testing that begins April 15.

New Business

The board approved the following: a renewal of health insurance as recommended by Dr. Forrest; a renewal of dental insurance as presented by Dr. Forrest; a renewal of life insurance as recommended by Dr. Forrest; the annual E-rate application as presented by Mr. Glidwell; the summer school application as presented by Dr. Worley; and the annual evaluation of the counselors/social work program as presented by Mrs. Sheets.

Closed Session

The board accepted resignations from the following: Haleigh Collier, HS math; Chelsey Keithly, CRE grade two; Jan Medlock, HS para (retirement); Cynthia Trimble, CRE para; Tim Gould, bus driver (retirement); Sandra Nichols, CRP cafeteria; and Tiffany Buchek, HS para. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Tyler Prochazka, BI assistant principal; Jared Howerton, BE assistant principal; Chelsea Koch, BE grade two; Kourtney Satterfield, JH ESL; Megan Horton, HS math; Haley Engle, CRE grade three; Aubrey Wilson, CRE grade one; Bethany Sooter, CRE grade two; and Alexee Denbow, JH Para. The board approved the substitute list for April.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education is **Thursday, May 16** at **6:30 p.m.** in the district offices.