Board Report April 16, 2021

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices. Re-elected members, Dan Boone and Cole Currier, were issued the oath of office by board secretary Kim Bryant. As is practiced each April, the board reorganized with members elected to the following positions: Roger Frieze, president; Sonja Myer, vice president; Nathan Moore, treasurer; and Kim Bryant, secretary.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Swofford presented information to the board on the following items: an update on COVID protocols (students and staff will continue to wear face coverings for the remainder of the school year); the district will receive additional funding from the CARES Act; an overview of the MASA conference held in March; and a legislative update. Dr. Swofford publicly commended the following: Kyshin Isringhausen for state wrestling; the 21 vocalists advancing to the state music contest; and the BHS Winterguard for a gold medal win. The board viewed a Public Schools Video created by district personnel and featuring district personnel. Dr. Dawson provided an update on assessment.

New Business

The board considered and approved the following items: a renewal of health insurance with the current carrier as recommended by Dr. Moore (the renewal amount is \$522 which represents an increase of 4% in premiums; no change in coverage); a renewal for dental insurance as presented by Dr. Moore (no change in premium or coverage); a renewal for life insurance policies as recommended by Dr. Moore (no change in premium or coverage); the submission of an application for E-Rate as proposed by Dr. Arnette; and the application for K-12 summer school as presented by Dr. Dawson.

Closed Session

The board accepted resignations from the following: Joe Presson, JH band; Lacie Reinsch, JH English; Stewart Brody, HS science; Juliana Alber, CRE SPED; Aubrey Wilson, CRE first grade; Hailey Westrich, HS SPED; Brenda Diehl, JH science; Lacie Oxenreider, CRI first grade; Kate Haley, CRP/BE art; Bailey Nelson, HS science; Lacey Mitchell, CRI math para; Clint Paulson, BE custodian (retirement); Shelley Jackson, JH cafeteria (retirement); Libby Boyer, HS cafeteria; Eduvina Flores, CRE food service; Tyler Mason, HS para; Lonnie Malone, bus driver (retirement); and Mary Ann Malone, bus driver (retirement). The board considered and approved the following for employment: Jaylene Quarti, JH/CRI speech; Miranda Theel, JH math; Spenser Cross, JH history; Kelly Anstaett, JH math; Marlie Reese, BE grade three; Jeff Cherry, HS history; Courtney Batson, BE kindergarten; Alexis Leonhart, JH English; Stephanie Reed, JH science; Stacie Thompson, CRI principal; Leah Kubala, HS assistant band director; Bart Leidecker, HS science; Cline Lyle, CRI Custodian; Alisha Phillips, HS custodian; Travis Gonzalez, JH custodian; Kym Haynes, bus aide; Lacy Barlow, warehouse administrative assistant; and Mindy Wilkerson, counseling secretary.

The next regular meeting of the board of education is scheduled Thursday, May 20 at 6:30 p.m. in the district offices.