Board Report August 21, 2020

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Swofford reviewed the following items with the board: the district's Back to School Plan; a recap of the district meetings held Wednesday with all staff; an announcement that the annual MSBA conference will be virtual due to the COVID-19 pandemic; and an overview of the Teaching and Learning Institute that was held earlier this month. Dr. Swofford announced that the district has been honored with the Business of the Year Award from the Branson-Hollister Rotary Club. He also offered public congratulations to the following: Matt Dean for successfully defending his dissertation and earning his doctoral degree; the Special Education Department for exemplary performance in compliance from DESE; Nicole Crocker is president of the Southwest Agriculture Teachers Association for 2020-21; and Francie McBride has been inducted into the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. Dr. Dawson announced that, to date, the district has 819 students who have committed to enrollment in the online LAUNCH program. Building handbooks were presented by Dr. Dawson and he announced that the Alternative Methods of Instruction (AMI) plan was approved by DESE. He also presented an overview of the new teacher induction program. Dr. Arnette provided an update on the summer building projects that were completed throughout the district. Dr. Arnette presented results of the bus fleet inspection as conducted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

Old Business

The board approved the following: the tax rate levy of \$4.29, with 70 cents going to debt service, as recommended by Dr. Swofford; a resolution authorizing the annual submission for state school aid, the transportation report and the secretary of the board report to DESE as presented by Dr. Swofford; the local compliance plan as recommended by Dr. Dawson; the district's strategic goals for 2020-2025 as submitted by Dr. Dawson; MSBA policy updates as recommended by the Missouri School Boards' Association and presented by Dr. Dawson; an enrollment agreement with College of the Ozarks as submitted by Dr. Dawson; and the summer school program evaluation as presented by Dr. Dawson.

Closed Session

The board accepted resignations from the following: Erika Puzzo, CRE ESL; Lindsey Bunce, CRE grade three; Toni Hellmer, HS para; Kayla Morrison, CRP para; Candace Fischer, BE cafeteria; Christine Walls, CRE cafeteria; Jenny Bales, HS cafeteria; Juan DeLosSantos, Jr., CRE cafeteria; Angel Wolf, HS Para; Alexander Gibson, HS para; Whitney Sanders, CRP para; Justin Meyer, grounds; Tahya Taffer, CRP para; Nick Ellis, HS cafeteria; Danny Macias, HS para; Betty Jacobs, HS secretary; Sam Wallace, bus driver; and Cheryl Jones, bus driver. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Lacie Oxenreider, CRE grade one; Branden Woodall, HS para; Jennifer Dixon, CRE para; Caitlin Acuff, CRP para; Paula Stoner, CRE secretary; Tyler Mason, CRP/HS library aide; Rhiannon Sanderson, CRP para; LeAnne Gilliland, BI Para; Jane Schoen, bus driver; Andres Cirilo, bus driver; Dawn Hyde, bus driver; Lacey Olson, CRE custodian; Maria Garcia, BE custodian; Sheri Gahagan, JH nurse;

Dustin Eads, maintenance; Tammy Buhl, CRP cafeteria; Lacresha Sanders, CRP cafeteria; Virginia DeLosSantos, CRE cafeteria; Cindy Floyd, CRE cafeteria; Rachel Austin, BE cafeteria; Paula Rupp, CRI cafeteria; Dustin Reynolds; HS custodian; Libby Boyer, HS cafeteria; Karla Echavarria, HS cafeteria; Khristine Dornquast, BE cafeteria; Julie Kauffman, HS cafeteria; Ryan Guthrie, JH cafeteria; James McDowell, grounds; Stephanie Ortiz, HS para; and David Collins, bus driver. The board reviewed and approved the substitute list for September and the extracurricular assignments for 2020-2021.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education is **Thursday, September 17** at **6:30 p.m.** in the district offices.