# Board Report August 19, 2016

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices.

## **Administrative reports**

Dr. Swofford provided information on the following items: he was among 51 new superintendents attending the DESE conference in July; Mr. Bronn and Mr. Arnette have been selected as presenters at the MSBA annual conference in September; and Missouri senator Sater has provided a proclamation to our school board for receiving the MSBS Governance Award. Mrs. Sheets reported that preliminary student enrollment stands at 4,879. Dr. Brenner reported that 193 staff members, along with 45 new staff members, attended the district's Technology Conference in July. Mr. Arnette provided an overview of the meetings held earlier this month for new members of our faculty. The High School Faculty Handbook was presented by Mr. Lourenco. The JH Faculty Handbook was presented by Mr. Bronn. Dr. Forrest reviewed construction projects that were completed over the summer.

### **Old Business**

The board approved the purchase of seven parcels of land, which are contiguous to the west side of the High School, through the county's delinquent tax sale. Total cost for the seven parcels was \$6,300.

### New Business

The board approved the following: a resolution authorizing the submission of the application for state aid, transportation report and the secretary of the board report to DESE as recommended by Dr. Swofford; the annual tuition agreement with College of the Ozarks as recommended by Mr. Arnette; the board conflict of interest ordinance as submitted by Mr. Arnette; the summer school program evaluation as submitted by Mr. Lourenco and Dr. Worley; the local compliance plan as recommended by Dr. Henderson; and the date for the annual tax rate hearing. The board will meet to set the tax levy August 25 at 7:00 a.m.

### **Closed Session**

The board accepted resignations from the following: Rachel Molinari, social work secretary; Linelle Meadows, HS attendance secretary; Paula Ashby, bus driver; Heather Womack, HS para; Bonnie Gage, CRP day care; Tim Lewis, CRE para; Ken Medlock, HS para; Heather Henderson, HS library aide; George Crabtree, HS custodian; Elijah Langford, bus aide; Theresa Childers, JH cafeteria; Tina Kuipers, HS cafeteria; and Karla Argo, HS cafeteria. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Abigail Minton, BE grade three; Jana Payne, CRE grade three; Sunnie Miller, BE math interventionist; Kari Watkins, HS para; Sam Ward, HS para; Ami Bremer, CRP para; Lyrsa Garcia, HS para; Donna Starling, HS para; Lynette Lermy, CRP para; Karen Littrell, central office secretary; Eva Rosberg, social work office secretary; Larry Moon, BI custodian; John Maloney, CRE cafeteria; Lyndsey Hunter, BE cafeteria; Lisa Smith, JH cafeteria; Tracy Kreisler, HS cafeteria; Carol Manning, HS cafeteria; Ethan Demarce, bus driver; Stan Miller, bus driver; Chris Newsom, bus driver; Jennifer Rutz, bus driver; Chris Sparks, bus driver; Jimmy Wilson, bus driver; William O'Toole, bus driver; Mike Matney, bus driver; Leslie Martin, bus aide; Hannah Turner, bus aide; Pam Risner, bus aide; and William Budde, bus aide. The board approved the substitute list for August. The board was informed of the following transfers: Michelle Youngblood to technology secretary from central office secretary; Jennifer Werling to HS library aide from HS para; Ben Hopper to CRI SPED from BE SPED; Ashley Ayres to BI SPED from BI/CRI SPED; and Charlotte Gannott to BE para from CRP para. The board also reviewed extracurricular assignments for the 2016-17 school year.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education is **Thursday, September 15** at **6:30** p.m. in the district offices.