Board Report August 18, 2017

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Swofford provided information on the following topics: two new members have been appointed to the state board of education (Peter Herschend and Maynard Wallace, both members from southwest Missouri, have been replaced); items discussed at the DESE conference for superintendents held in early August; Shannon Pagan, fourth grade teacher at Buchanan Intermediate, has been selected as a southwest region Teacher of the Year and will compete for the Missouri State Teacher of the Year honors; an update on the activity space on the Cedar Ridge campus and the Buchanan Intermediate campus; Cedar Ridge Intermediate is the top fund raiser among elementary schools in Missouri for the Lymphoma/Leukemia Society; and the Champions of Welcome for the 2016-2017 school year are Stephanie Seaman and Angie Waugh. Mrs. Sheets reported that early enrollment for the district stands at 4,865. Dr. Brenner provided an overview of the Technology Institute hosted by the district in July. Mr. Arnette reported on new teacher meetings and orientation. The Junior High faculty handbook was presented by Mr. Bronn and the High School faculty handbook was presented by Mr. Lourenco. Dr. Forrest provided an update on summer building projects.

New Business

The board approved the following: the annual tax levy rate hearing was set at \$4.2645 as recommended by Dr. Swofford; an agreement between the district and College of the Ozarks as recommended by Mr. Arnette; a resolution authorizing the application for state school aid, the transportation report, and the secretary of the board report as submitted by Dr. Swofford; the summer school program evaluation as submitted by Dr. Worley and Mr. Lourenco; the district's local compliance plan as recommended by Dr. Henderson; and the curriculum program evaluation as submitted by Mrs. Sheets.

Closed Session

The board accepted resignations from the following: Mary Jo Jahn, HS speech; Marta Nangle, CRE ESL; Lyrsa Garcia, HS para; Alexa Grisham, HS para; Lynette Lermy, CRP para; Bethany Teaster, CRP para; Eva Ragon, social work secretary; Chris Sparks, bus driver; Melissa Wallace, bus driver; Hannah Turner, bus aide; Sarah Kramme, CRP daycare; Katie Roebuck, JH counseling secretary; Elizabeth Ruble, JH cafeteria; and Tracy Kreiser, HS cafeteria. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Doreen Hasner, HS speech; Elizabeth Renshaw, HS science; Stacie Klott, JH science/P.E.; Shauna Dupree, HS para; Desirae Peel, HS para; Brenda DeRusse, CRE para; Carlie Sawyer, BI para; Elizabeth Spradling, CRP para; Hayley Tillack, CRP para; Dawn Plachta, CRI secretary; Michelle Meier, BE secretary; Amy Jaeger, BE counseling secretary; Beverly Hinderman, accounts payable; Brenda Paschal, bus driver, Chad Coffelt, bus driver, William Stone, bus driver; Daniel Chestnut, bus driver; Deborah Fish, bus driver; Adrian Griffith, bus driver; and Anthony Tharp, bus driver. The substitute list was approved for August and extracurricular assignments for the 2017-2018 school year were reviewed.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education is **Thursday, September 21** at 6:30 p.m. in the district offices.