Board Report June 30, 2016

The board of education met in regular session Thursday, June 30 in the district offices. During open communications, Chuck Pennell and Susan Chapman addressed the board to state their intentions as candidates for Taney County assessor.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Swofford provided reports on the following: the bus fleet earned a safety rating of 98.5% from the Missouri State Highway Patrol inspectors. This rating also allows the fleet to earn a Total Fleet Excellence Award which will be presented July 13 in Columbia. Swofford met with the retired teachers' organization June 14 to discuss local and state issues; an update on economic development for our community; and announced that the purchase of 43 acres, contiguous to the current high school on Buchanan Road, was finalized June 28. A summer school report was presented by Mr. Lourenco and Dr. Worley. The elementary student handbook and the elementary staff handbook were presented by Mr. Russell. A report on district-wide energy savings was submitted by Dr. Forrest.

New Business

The board approved the following: the food service evaluation report as submitted by Mrs. Morey; the fresh fruit and vegetable program grant application as recommended by Mrs. Morey; the health service program evaluation as presented by Mrs. Newberry; the 2015-2016 annual bus route report as presented by Mr. Watson; the 2015-2016 winter and spring activities report as presented by Mr. Large; an amended board meeting schedule for July as recommended by Dr. Swofford; the revised FY 2015 budget as recommended by Dr. Swofford; a 7% transfer resolution as recommended by Dr. Swofford; and the preliminary FY 2016 budget as recommended by Dr. Swofford. The budget is set at \$50 million for the upcoming school year.

Closed session

The board accepted resignations from the following: Valerie Paulette, CRI grade six; Julie Ipock, CRE grade one; Creasa Rhodes, BE reading recovery; and Kathryn Roussell, BE para. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Mary Jo Jahn, HS speech pathologist; Elizabeth Taylor, ECSE speech pathologist: Lacie Oxenreider, CRE grade one; Katie Fender, CRI grade six; Audrey Ball, CRE grade one; Jamey Derks, HS para; Samuel Ward, HS para; Marielys Velez, CRE para; Marvalie Nantz, CRI para; Larry Pemberton, CRP para; and Karah Vannicolo, CRP, para. The substitute list for August was approved. The board was notified of the following transfers: Dian Stick from HS custodian to CRP custodian; and Michelle Youngblood from secretary to the assistant superintendent to secretary to the technology director.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education will be **Thursday**, **August 18 at 6:30 p.m.** In the district offices.