## Board Report April 15, 2016

The board of education met in regular session last night in the district offices. The results of the annual school election were presented by board secretary Mrs. Bryant. Debbie Keller and Roger Frieze were elected to three-year terms ending in 2019. The oath of office was issued by Mrs. Bryant. The board elected officers for the 2016-2017 school year: Peter Marcellus, president; Roger Frieze, vice president; Don Forrest, treasurer; and Kim Bryant, secretary.

## **Administrative Reports**

Dr. Swofford reported on the following items: Focus Group meetings were held last week giving the district good insight on community expectations; an update on legislative issues; an update on the budget; High School vocalists will advance to state competition later this month; Lance Junck will advance to the National Speech and Debate Tournament this summer; and information on the proposed tobacco tax that could possibly fund early childhood programs in Missouri. The Junior High student council representative provided an overview of the Character Breakfast and a review of student activities. Mr. Arnette announced that the High School student council has again achieved Gold Council Honor status. He also announced that Alex Cullison and Warut Vijitbenjaronk have been named Missouri Scholars 100. Additionally, the High School has two National Merit Scholarship finalists: Holly Northcutt and Warut Vijitbenjaronk. Dr. Forrest provided an overview of the Missouri Preschool program Grant that was awarded to the district. Mr. Arnette reported that five BHS students completed the GOCAPS program this year and 16 will participate next school year. Reports on assessment and the *Love and Logic* program were submitted by Mr. Allen.

## New Business

The board approved the following: the summer school application as presented by Mr. Lourenco; the E-Rate application as submitted by Mr. Lampe; a change order on the Junior High construction project as recommended by Dr. Forrest; and renewal rates for health insurance, dental insurance and life insurance as recommended by Dr. Forrest. The health insurance rate will have a 4.5 % increase for next year. No increase for dental or life insurance rates.

## **Closed Session**

The board accepted resignations from the following: Nathan Huddleston, HS math; Stephanie Huddleston, HS special education; Katy Kampbell, CRI grade five; Cherry Voliva, CRI grade four; Ashley McCrary, BE grade one; Abby Wells, CRE grade one; Nicole Keller, JH science; Staci Baker, BE principal; Angel Armstrong, HS para; Gayla Barker, technology; Linda Larson, accounts payable; and Jeff Pair, maintenance. The board considered and approved the following for employment: Tricia Denzer, HS special education; Cynthia Hodges, HS special education; Adam Barbee, JH English; Nick Crabtree, CRI classroom; Hannah Pyatt, CRI classroom; Amanda Temple, CRI special education; Dan Moore, HS custodian; and Darren Vest, maintenance. The board was notified of the following transfers: Toni Brown to BE grade one from BE kindergarten; Ben Hornbeck to JH special education from CRI special education; Sarah Brockmeier to HS FACS from JH FACS; and Debbie Fitzgerald to cafeteria from CRP custodian.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the board of education will be held **Thursday**, **May 12 at 6:30 p.m.**