Return to Headlines

Board Earns Governance Team Award

The Branson board of education is among 33 district boards to receive the Missouri School Boards’ Association 2019 Governance Team Award.  This prestigious award is based on the board’s outstanding commitment to ongoing professional development in areas such as student achievement, school law and finance, board operations and contemporary issues in education. The award also recognizes a commitment to regional and statewide leadership and active participation in legislative advocacy for public schools and the students they serve. All 33 school boards met rigorous requirements to achieve the Governance Award.

Members of the Branson board of education include:  Roger Frieze, president; Peter Marcellus, vice president; Dan Boone; Cole Currier; Jeff Smethers; Angie Smith; and Craig Wescott.   The award was presented at the MSBA Leadership Summit held June 8 in St. Charles.